So I Mustn’t Forget – 5 Autumn moments I cherish.

Autumn days, when the grass is jewelled
And the silk inside a chestnut shell
Jet planes meeting in the air to be refuelled
All these things I love so well

Clouds that look like familiar faces
And a winter’s moon with frosted rings
Smell of bacon as I fasten up my laces
And the song the milkman sings.

Whipped-up spray that is rainbow-scattered
And a swallow curving in the sky
Shoes so comfy though they’re worn out and they’re battered
And the taste of apple pie.

So I mustn’t forget
No, I mustn’t forget
To say a great big thank you
I mustn’t forget.

Estelle White

I love singing this song with my class at school. It captures a childhood of wading through a sea of crispy leaves in wellies, carrying a few new library books under my arm. I carries a reminder to be grateful for the everyday moments that are tiny pockets of beauty amongst the rush and bustle of a new school year.   Here are 5 of my Autumn moments:

Number One ~ The raindrops singing a lullaby when I’m all cosy in bed.

Number Two ~ Apple and cinnamon bagels topped with Biscoff spread.

Number Three ~The way my dressing gown feels when I put it on straight out of the tumble dryer.

Number Four ~ Curling up with a mug of tea and a blanket.

Number Five ~ Homemade soup and bread.

What are yours?

Leave a comment